Pennsylvania DUI Penalties

We Fight Pennsylvania Penalties for DUI/DAI

Criminal penalties for drunk driving can involve jail time, license suspension, fines, interlock ignition installation, alcohol treatment, driving school, and many other consequences if convicted. Additionally, driver’s license suspension by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation will likely result from a separate administrative hearing. With so much at stake, it is critical to have a skilled DUI defense lawyer on your side from the very beginning.

Our drunk driving defense attorneys at MyPhillyLawyer.com, sponsored by Silvers, Langsam & Weitzman, P.C., understand the laws in Pennsylvania and how to effectively defend our clients’ rights. Contact us today to start preparing your defense strategy.

Understanding Pennsylvania DUI/DAI Penalties

The following is a summary of the penalties one can expect to receive, if convicted for drunk driving in Pennsylvania:

BAC LEVELS
.08 – .099

1st offense

  • 6 months maximum probation
  • $300
  • 2nd offense

  • Min. jail term of 5 days
  • $300 – $2,500
  • 12 month license suspension
  • mandatory ignition interlock
  • 3rd offense

  • Min. jail term of 10 days
  • $500 – $5,000
  • 12 month license suspension
  • mandatory ignition interlock
  • 4th offense

    .10 – .159
    (also Underage DAI, DAI with crash or injuries, and DAI in a commercial vehicle or school bus)

    1st offense

  • Min. jail term of 48 hours
  • $500 – $5000
  • 12 month license suspension
  • 2nd offense

  • Min. jail term of 30 days
  • $750 – $5000
  • 12 month license suspension
  • mandatory ignition interlock
  • 3rd offense

  • Min. jail term of 90 days
  • $1500 – $10,000
  • 18 month license suspension
  • mandatory ignition interlock
  • 4th offense

  • Min. jail term of 1 year
  • $1500 – $10,000
  • 18 month license suspension
  • mandatory ignition interlock
  • .16 or higher
    (also Controlled Substances/DUI drugs and breath test refusal)

    1st offense

  • Min. jail term of 72 hours
  • $1000 – $5000
  • 12 month license suspension
  • 2nd offense

  • Min. jail term of 90 days
  • $1500 min.
  • 18 month license suspension
  • mandatory ignition interlock
  • 3rd offense

  • Min. jail term of 1 year
  • $2500 min.
  • 18 month license suspension
  • mandatory ignition interlock
  • 4th offense

    Contact Us at 215-789-9346 When Charged With Drunk Driving

    Whether you face potential criminal penalties for first offense or fourth offense DUI/DWI/DAI in Pennsylvania, you need an experienced lawyer on your side. Our seasoned trial lawyers are committed to our clients’ needs in every case. Therefore, you can count on us to fight to protect your rights and future. Contact us to learn how we can help minimize the consequences following a DUI arrest.

    Talk to an Experienced Pennsylvania Criminal Defense Attorney

    Call 215-789-9346

    Contact a Philadelphia defense attorney at Silvers, Langsam & Weitzman, P.C., to arrange a free consultation about your case. Our Philadelphia criminal attorneys represent clients in Greater Philadelphia and the surrounding area.

    Get Your Free Case Consultation Today!

    Contact our law firm today, we can help. It costs you nothing to learn about your legal rights, so why wait?