Why You Need an Uber Accident Lawyer
Millions of vehicles travel the roadways and highways of Pennsylvania every day. Transportation and public transportation, like buses, trains and taxis, is a necessity for Pennsylvanians. A growing alternative to public transit are ride-share services like Uber.
Uber is similar to taxi services in that people pay a fee for transportation. What makes ride-hailing services like Uber different is that they use digital apps to order ride services. What is unique about Uber is that drivers use their own vehicles that are approved by the ride-share company.
Uber drivers travel on the same roadway and highways as other motorists. Like other drivers, Uber drivers may be involved in an automobile accident. The consequences of a crash with or involving an Uber vehicle differ from a standard car accident. If you or a loved one was injured in an Uber accident, contact the MyPhillyLawyer at 866-907-2231 to find out if you have a case.
What Is Uber?
Uber is ride-share company founded in 2009. It has over 100 million active users worldwide. To order an Uber ride, people have to download the Uber app. The Uber drivers have to agree to the hail, and when they do, they arrive to take the passenger(s) to their destination.
Uber Laws in Pennsylvania
Uber operates in Pennsylvania under the Transportation Network Companies statutes. The state enacted these laws in November 2016 to govern ride-shares (also known as transportation network companies) and ensure that the companies, their drivers and passengers have legal guidance and protection.
Uber drivers must comply with rules established by Uber, as well as the laws of the state. One safety measure in place for Uber drivers is the duty to have an annual vehicle inspection. When the vehicle meets the approval for the inspection, the driver must properly display the certificate.
Pennsylvania law also requires that the vehicles used for Uber services meet the following criteria:
- Have a seating capacity of fewer than ten people, including the driver;
- Have at least four doors;
- Must have body styles of a coupe, sedan or light-duty vehicle, including a van, minivan, sport utility vehicle, pickup truck, hatchback or convertible;
- Have not been issued a title class of salvage, junk or total loss;
- Is not older than ten years, or 12 years if uses alternative fuel; and
- Have not been driven more than 350,000 miles.
Under state law, Uber drivers must maintain automobile insurance. Uber must also maintain insurance coverage on their drivers regardless of whether the Uber drivers have their own or not. Pennsylvania law states how much coverage Uber or its drivers must have. The law determines the amount of coverage based on the status of the driver.
When a driver is offline or logged off of the Uber app, their own insurance policy covers them and their vehicle in case of an accident. However, when the driver logs onto the app and has accepted a ride request or has a passenger onboard, Uber’s insurance policy becomes active.
When the driver is logged on to the app but engaged in a prearranged ride, the primary automobile liability insurance coverage is:
- $50,000 for death and bodily injury per person
- $100,000 for death and bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
When the Uber driver is engaged in driving a passenger, Uber or the driver must have minimum insurance coverage of $500,000 for death, bodily injury and property damage.
What Happens After an Uber Accident
Although Uber drivers may be in work mode while driving, they are still motorists. They drive among the traffic and congestion. Like everyone else, Uber drivers in Pennsylvania must obey the state’s traffic rules, including following traffic signals and driving at the posted speed limits.
If an Uber driver is negligent while driving, an accident might occur. After an Uber accident, Pennsylvania laws require the Uber driver to give the insurance information to the other driver(s) involved. The driver must also report the accident to:
- The driver’s personal insurance provider if the policy requires it;
- The owner of the vehicle, if other than the driver;
- The insurance company providing coverage for ride-share driving; and
- The insurance policyholder covering the car if it is not the driver.
Legal Compensation After an Uber Accident in Pennsylvania
If an Uber driver hit you or your loved one or their vehicle or you or your loved one were a passenger in an Uber, then you may have a claim. In addition to your injuries and damages, you may have medical bills and are unable to work. You may be entitled to compensation for your injuries and damages caused by the Uber accident.
You may want to file a lawsuit to recover for your damages. You may sue Uber, the Uber driver and/or their insurance carriers. You may seek compensation for damages such as:
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Lost wages
- Medical bills
- Pain and suffering
- Future or continuing medical treatment
Why You Need a Pennsylvania Uber Accident Attorney
Like any lawsuit, Uber accidents can be complex and time-consuming. The laws that govern ride-hailing companies add a set of rules to understand and apply in case of a legal battle. Do not face this alone.
An experienced and knowledgeable Philadelphia Uber accident attorney is best to handle the details and complexities of an accident involving Uber. Contact the MyPhillyLawyer today at 866-907-2231 for a free consultation to discuss your case and how to protect and preserve your rights.